Portlanded

June 20, 2007

City of Heroes Movie in the Works

Filed under: Gaming, Movies — Tom @ 6:50 pm

There’s no escaping the fact that I’m a geek. I spend enormous amounts of time on the computer. I love tech gadgets. I play videogames. I read comic books.

The upside of all this is that I can get pretty excited about relatively minor announcements when they involve one or more of my geeky pasttimes. Like the news that Transformers producer Tom DeSanto is looking to develop a movie based on City of Heroes, a massively multiplayer online role-playing game.

Dr. Nightshade vs. the Clockwork KingThis is awesome. I realize that it’s years off and may never happen. But I’ve spent countless hours in Paragon City fighting crime and would love to see it brought to life on the big screen.

I think the premise could make a great film. For those of you who have never played, the game takes place in Paragon City, a city on the eastern seaboard with a long history of super-powered vigilantes. It’s reeling from a devastating alien invasion. Various villainous organizations are looking to do whatever villainous organizations do. In response, the Paragon City has opened its doors to heroes from all over — come to town, register with City Hall and you’re a licensed vigilante. I hope the city’s premier supergroup, the Freedom Phalanx (made up of heroes created by the CoH development team), will find its way into the film.

I’ve played a few other MMORPGs but never stick with them. For whatever reason, I’ve had better luck making friends and building relationships in CoH than in other games. Anytime I log on, I can count on running into at least a handful of people that I team up with regularly and hang out with.

If you haven’t tried City of Heroes, you should check it out. Look me up sometime as JohnnyFlux or Dr. Nightshade. Or the Fiery Mass. Or Chill McFreeze. Rex Danger. Jake Justice. Crush Biggs. Or…

City of Heroes website
Buy City of Heroes at Amazon.com

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

